Intention Statement

May 16, 2007 at 7:25 pm (Uncategorized)

I was the victim of rape in 2006. I reported the incident to the police and the case went to court 3 months later.

At various times I felt very worried about what was going to happen. I always felt lonely. Although I was surrounded by wonderful family and friends who would ask me what I needed at every stage, I wanted to hear an account from someone who had been through something similar. I was able to get advice from the police officers, from victim support, from the witness liasion service, from a counsellor, a GP and from loved ones but some things I wanted to know seemed to slip between the cracks and I felt I was being passed from pillar to post on some queries.

I know that each rape is quite different and that each case is probably handled in different ways, but I hope that this example can be useful to any victim who feels lost or for anybody who wishes to know more about the British system at present.

I should take this opportunity to give my deep and sincere thanks to the police who handled my case, to my wonderful boyfriend who made me survive, my mum, dad, brother and sister, my extended family, those friends who understood and listened, North West Feminists, My counsellor, my GP, and everyone who fights everyday to change the system for the better.

8 Comments

  1. jackie said,

    I wanted to thank you for writing this. You are very brave. Thank you.

  2. Olive said,

    Your clarity, honesty and integrity are very inspiring. This is your healing in process.

  3. The Ginja Ninja said,

    Wow. Can’t wait to get reading. I wish you all the luck in the world, both with the case and with getting over it and life in general.

  4. Jill said,

    What can I say other than what a wonderful strong woman you are. The strength of character you have shown in going through such a difficult and harrowing ordeal at such personal cost is so inspiring.

    I am sure that your writing will help other women who have experienced sexual violence to know that they are not alone and I hope enable them to share their own feelings.

    From reading your experience it is clear that you have a special and loving partner and family around you. I know that this means so much and will be needed for a long time.

    Take care and keep on writing- we are listening

  5. Carol said,

    Your account of this awful ordeal is so moving. It has taken a great deal of courage to write this and I feel sure will help other women who find themselves the victim of this sort of crime. I’m sure it will also give them the hope that they to can survive despite the hopelessness they may feel soon after the offence.

    Well done to you for having the strength to use this experience to help others. Your family are so proud of you.

  6. witchy-woo said,

    I can only echo Jennifer and Louise – this is a very brave and courageous thing you’re doing here. So many women and girls will benefit from reading about your experience.

    I wish you well.

  7. Louise said,

    I think you are really brave. Good luck and keep it up. You are doing the right thing. You are an inspiration.

  8. jennifer drew said,

    I’m so sorry to learn that you were subjected to rape by a man who I have no doubt believed he had done nothing wrong. I am so glad you have the support of your family and friends. Also, that on this occasion, the police, victim support and counsellor all treated you with the utmost respect. But, I do know there are certain things which unless a woman has been through a similar experience, it is difficult for people to understand.

    I happen to know of a safe network for women survivors of rape and other forms of male sexual violence and if you wish, just email me and I will put you in touch with them. It is a self-help group but I have found it to be very helpful in dealing with my own issues.

    Thank you for writing about your experience it must have taken great courage so don’t dismiss that. This man committed a terrible crime but by writing you have shown you are not just another statistic.

Leave a Reply

